Founded in 1365, the University of Vienna is one of the oldest and largest universities in Europe. Today, 6,700 researchers conduct basic and applied research at the 15 faculties and 5 centres of the University of Vienna, thus tackling present and future challenges.

The Faculty of Chemistry was founded in 2004 as a separate organisational unit. Prior to this, the Institutes of Chemistry existed as a section within the Faculty of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

The majority of the Faculty's Research groups, labs, and lecture rooms is situated in the historical building block New Chemistry between Strudlhofgasse, Boltzmanngasse and Währinger Straße. Some departments are located in other University buildings in the 9th district of Vienna.

 Faculty of Chemistry, Währinger Strasse 42, 1090 Vienna